Crochet Crochet Patterns

Calico Critter Crochet Sundress ~ Free Pattern

I’m sure you’ve figured out what’s going on from the title of this post, so I won’t ramble on much. A few days ago, I was lucky enough to get ahold of some Calico Critters and it was suggested that I crochet them a dress. Well, after making this one I am completely enamored with the idea…Calico Critters are sooo cute and tiny, and it takes hardly any thread, time, or effort to crochet for them, plus I happen to think the end result is pretty cute. 🙂 So it’s safe to say there will be some more Calico Critter crochet outfits in the future.

IMG_2275

One note: this pattern is written for one of the KIDS! I wasn’t ambitious enough to tackle multiple sizes on this first pattern. Hopefully I’ll post the larger version soon. 🙂

IMG_2277

This should fit any CC kid, although I’ve only tried it on the kitty. There’s quite a lot of space for their tail, as there’s just one button at the top.

Materials

  • Small amount of size 10 crochet thread in desired color (pink for me!)
  • 2.1 MM crochet hook
  • Tiny button (mine was 1/4 inch diameter)
  • A Calico Critter!

Leaving a tail that’s about a foot long, ch 21. (This will be used to crochet the button loop at the end.)

Row 1 (WS): Sc in 2nd ch from hk and in each ch across.

Row 2: Ch 1, turn, 2 sc in first st, sc in next st, 2 sc in next st. Ch 3, sk next 4 sts (right armhole made), *2 sc in next st, sc in next st* 3x. Ch 3, sk next 4 sts (left armhole made), sc in next st, 2 sc in next st, sc in last st.

Row 3: Ch 1, turn, sc evenly across, making 3 sc in each chain-3 loop.

Row 4: Ch 2, turn, sk 1st st, 3 dc in next st (cluster made). *Sk next st, 3 dc in next st* 10x. Sk next st, 1 dc in last st.

Row 5: Ch 1, turn. Sk 1st dc, sc in space between first dc and first 3-dc group. *Ch 3, sk next 3 dc, sc in space between clusters* 10x. Ch 3, sk next 3 dc, sc in space between last 3-dc group and next dc.

Row 6: Ch 2, turn. 3 dc in each ch-3 group across. Dc in last sc.

Row 7: Repeat Row 5.

Fasten off and weave in ending tail.

Button Loop:

Go back to the beginning where you left a foot-long tail. Using that tail, pull up a loop at the end of Row 2. Ch 4 (or however many chains you need to fit around your button), sl st into end of Row 3. Fasten off and weave in ends.

IMG_2278

I’ve noticed there are very few free patterns for Calico Critter outfits, so I will definitely be working to change that! 😉 They are one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen (and you have to keep in mind I did the photo shoot for the Guinea Pig Accessories.)

What about you, lovely followers? Do you have any Calico Critters, and if so, have you ever crocheted for them? I hadn’t until now and I’m so glad I did. 😀

(15) Comments

  1. How cute! Thanks for the free pattern 🙂

    Regards,
    Sindhu
    Tantu
    The Arts & Me

    1. Thank you Sindhu, I’m glad you like it! 😀

  2. Simply adorable, and I shared!!

    1. Aw, thank you, and thanks for sharing! 🙂

      1. Your welcome! 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh, that’s cute! I’d never heard of Calico Critters. Are you going to combine characters and make some Frozen kitty outfits? 🙂

    1. Thank you! I’m glad I could introduce you to them. That’s a really good idea, I think I might do just that! 🙂

  4. Laura says:

    I am starting to crochet the clothes for my daughter’s critters. If you add more patterns, let me know,

    1. Hopefully I will have more patterns sometime – you can click here to view the ones I have so far. http://cogaroocrafts.wordpress.com/calico-critter-crochet/ Have fun! 🙂

    2. The pictures aren’t available on your page. Do you have another site or Facebook page?

  5. Sarah says:

    Could I use embroidery floss for the material?

    1. Hi Sarah! I think embroidery floss would work, give it a try and see if the sizing is right, maybe just attempt a couple rows and check if it fits? I’m also not sure how many skeins of it you would need, but it’s a great idea! And sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner!

  6. Bee R. says:

    Thank you for the patterns. I am just starting crocheting CC clothes for my granddaughtef. Your pictures will not come up on my phone. Please post any new ones.

  7. Emily Adams says:

    Thank you so much for this! It was adorable. The perfect solution for “Mom can you make a dress for her?”

    1. I’m so glad to hear that! How sweet for you to make stuff for your kid… thanks for telling me, it’s so nice to hear that my patterns are being used. ^__^

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *