Crochet Crochet Patterns

Katniss Chibi (Part 1)

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m sort of obsessed with The Hunger Games.  Recently I was checking out Lollipops & Rainbows, and I saw a link to a Chibi Maker.  (Here.)  Later I saw a YouTube tutorial for a Katniss Chibiand all of this stuff came together…I don’t have clay, but I do have yarn!

 

Maybe some of you want to crochet your own Katniss chibi? If so, here’s how you can make your own.  It takes a while, but was super fun to make.  🙂

This tutorial turned out longer than I had expected, so I’m dividing it into 2 parts.  The first part will have the pattern, and the second part will cover the assembly & accessories. (If you can call a bow an accessory.)

M A T E R I A L S :

 

Size 10 crochet thread in white, black, brown, and green

2.1 MM hook (or smaller if you want a smaller chibi)

Hot-glue gun – sewing doesn’t work for this project

A bit of white felt (I know there are three colors in the picture, but I only used white.)

Tiny bit of paper, and gray, black, and red markers

Scissors, and some way to weave in the ends, like a needle.  I just used the crochet hook.

A small jump ring (I think that’s the term) to use as her mockingjay pin

Three jewelry-making metal stick thingies (sorry about that description! They’re the things you can bend into different shapes with pliers, and about 2 inches long.)  You need two regular ones and one with a loop on the end.

Stitch marker (a scrap of thread works well, or just do it in your head) and a way to keep track of the rows, I used a row counter, but you could write it down on a piece of paper.

Teeny tiny bit of stuffing

If you want the arrows to have feathers, find something for that; I used two small brown tube beads

I know, that’s a lot of things to gather!  You can improvise some, like maybe try a paper clip instead of the jewelry-making metal stick thingies.

P A T T E R N   N O T E S

Most of the pieces are worked in a continuous spiral, except the coat body and quiver strap.  Mark the first stitch of each round with a stitch marker to keep your place.

I would suggest making all the pieces first, and then assembling them.  I have lots of pictures for the assembly to make it as easy as possible.

Weave in all of the ends as you go.  I don’t say this in the pattern, though.  The method I use is just using the crochet hook to pull the thread through the limb, then snipping it off.  It will get glued down anyway, since there’s a lot of gluing in this project.

I have a tutorial for the magic ring here.  It gets rid of the starting hole and, in my opinion, makes the finished piece look better.  If you don’t want to use a magic ring, then ch 2 and work the stitches in the 2nd ch from the hook.

I use US crochet terms!  So, US sc = UK dc.  That’s the only stitch you’ll need to know.

H E A D (with white)

Rnd 1: 7 sc in a magic ring

Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around

Rnd 3: *sc 1, 2 sc in next st* 7 times

Rnds 4-7: sc around

Rnd 8: *sc 1, sc2tog* 7 times

Rnd 9: *sc2tog* 7 times.  Now would be a good time to lightly STUFF THE HEAD.

Rnd 10: *sc2tog* 3 times, sl st to next st, break off white.

B O D Y (with green)

Rnd 1: 6 sc in a magic ring

Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around

Rnd 3: *sc 3, 2 sc in next st* around

Rnds 4-7: sc around

Fasten off green.  We will be working the legs directly onto the body.  STUFF THE BODY lightly before proceeding.

L E G S (with brown)

Rnd 1: Attach brown to any stitch on the body, ch 1, sc in same st.  Sc in next 5 sts, sc2tog.  You should have 7 stitches.  Leave the remaining stitches unworked, we’ll use them for the second leg.  We will be working in a spiral from here.

Rnds 2-4: sc around.  Break off brown, weave end through all 7 sts and pull to tighten.

Second leg: It’s the same as the first leg, except with a different first round as follows: Join brown onto one of the 7 unworked stitches, ch 1, sc in same st.  Sc in next 6 sts.  Then work rounds 2-4 as for the first leg.

A R M S (starting with black)

The arm is worked from the top down, starting with black.  Then we change to white and crochet the hand.

Rnd 1: 6 sc in a magic ring

Rnd 2: *sc 1, 2 sc in next st* 3 times

Rnds 3-6: sc around

CHANGE TO WHITE

Rnd 7: *sc 1, sc2tog* 3 times

Rnd 8: *sc2tog* 3 times, sl st to next st and break off white.

C O A T (with black)

The coat is worked back in forth in rows.  Then we make the hood separately and sew it onto the coat body.

Row 1: Ch 17, sc in 2nd ch from hk and in each ch across.  (16 sc)

Rows 2-6: Ch 1, turn, sc in each st across (16 sc).  Break off black.

H O O D (with black)

Unlike the coat, the hood is worked in ROUNDS again.

Rnd 1: 7 sc in a magic ring

Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st around

Rnd 3: *sc 1, 2 sc in next st* 7 times

Rnd 4: *sc 2, 2 sc in next st* 7 times

Rnds 5-7: sc around

Do not fasten off.

J O I N I N G   H O O D   &   C O A T

Skip the first 6 stitches on the coat body.  Hold the hood and coat together and sc in the next 4 stitches, going through both pieces and effectively joining them together.  Now you can fasten off the thread.

Q U I V E R (with brown)

Rnd 1: 7 sc in a magic ring

Rnd 2: sc around in the back loops only

Rnds 3-6: sc around.  Break off brown.

S T R A P (with brown)

Ch 21, sc in 2nd ch from hk and in each ch across (20 st).  Break off.

*****************************************************************

 

I will post Part 2 soon… what do you think of my chibi version of Katniss?

 

(0) Comments

  1. It’s very cute! You should make a tiny target so your chibi can practice too. 🙂

    1. Thanks! I think I will do that, actually. 🙂

  2. Very nice Cogaroo! I am just about to get on the bandwagon and start reading these books!

    1. Yay! I hope you’ll like them, they’re pretty violent but totally awesome. (In my opinion.) 🙂

      1. You might like the movie too, they did a really good job on it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *