Amigurumi Crochet Fandomgurumi

Amigurumi Feyre & Sarah J. Maas Launch Party

Hi friends!

You may remember the Lunar Chronicles dolls I crocheted a while back… two years or so ago, actually. I made them because I was going to the launch party for Winter and I got to meet the author, Marissa Meyer, which was the coolest thing ever! You can see Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter if you’re interested.

Screen Shot 2017-05-21 at 4.29.45 PM

I’m a huge fan of fantasy novels, and I got into the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas about three years ago. When I started reading, her third book was about to release, and now she has EIGHT books published – five in that series, and a trilogy called “A Court of Thorns and Roses” (which is such a pain to say that she, and the fandom, call it ACOTAR). Well, I found out she was coming to my town for the release of the third book in the trilogy, and I immediately started fangirling.

It will probably come as no surprise that I wanted to crochet something for the occasion! Since I made an Iko as a gift for Marissa Meyer, I wanted to crochet a character for Sarah J Maas too. I’m in a fan group for Throne of Glass on Facebook, and they suggested I crochet the main character from ACOTAR, who’s named Feyre. (Weird names, I know, but what do you expect from fantasy? It’s pronounced Fay-ruh. 🙂 )

Disclaimer: I know some people read The Lunar Chronicles at my recommendation, so I want to make it abundantly clear that although SJM books are labeled ‘young adult,’ I would DEFINITELY classify them as ‘adult.’ There’s a reason I didn’t read ACOTAR until I was 18! Both of her series are of the ‘dark and edgy fantasy’ vein…I’ve heard it compared to “Game of Thrones.” Just fair warning so you know what you’re getting into. 🙂

IMG_4406

Well, here she is! Excuse the awful embroidery on her hand, which is supposed to resemble the main character’s tattoo, a sort of flowery/viney thing. My embroidery skills are not up to par. But apart from that, I rather like how she turned out. 🙂

I’m going to do my best to write up the notes on how I made her, because it’s really handy for future reference, and who knows – maybe some of you are ACOTAR fans!

Materials

  • Red Heart Super Saver in Aran for skin
  • Lion Brand Heartland for hair. I don’t remember the color name, but it’s this lovely reddish color – it was hard to find the perfect yarn for her hair!
  •  Loops & Threads Woollike yarn in black for dress, and gray for cape – it’s a #1 weight yarn and is super soft. Not itchy at all.
  • Silvery embroidery floss for detail on top
  • Thin silver shiny thread to hold along with Woollike yarn for the bodice. I bought this in a little spool for about $3 and still have a bunch left.
  • Safety eyes – I painted these with nail polish. Not too thrilled with how they came out, so for future amigurumi dolls I bought safety eyes that you can paint on the back, so they’re still shiny on the front. I can’t wait to show you how they turned out, in a future post!
  • 3 pipe cleaners, 1 per leg and half for each arm
  • G (4.00 MM) crochet hook for doll and hair
  • D (3.25 MM) crochet hook for dress (I’m almost positive this is the hook I used – I forgot to write it down)
  • C (2.75 MM) crochet hook for detail on dress

It’s hilarious how many supplies are required for a tiny amigurumi doll!

The pattern

I used the absolutely wonderful Mini Free Spirit pattern from By Hook, By Hand. It’s by far my favorite doll pattern, and the designer, Beth, is kind enough to provide it for free. I can’t recommend it enough! I took three rows out of the head because for some reason it was turning out oblong for me (same with the Lunar Chronicles dolls) and followed the rest of it to the letter.

The dress was a bit of a challenge. I based it off the cover for A Court of Wings and Ruin, which is the book that was releasing, on which Feyre is wearing her High Lady dress. The fandom seems to be rabid over this dress, and I can see why, it’s gorgeous! Take a gander:

I really like it. Sophisticated and sparkly. A little too edgy for my personal tastes, but then again, I am not a sword-wielding faerie. It’s kind of funny to take such a fierce heroine in her edgy dress and turn her into a chubby little amigurumi doll…but it was a fun challenge!

Feyre’s High Lady Dress

I used 2 strands of black Loops & Threads Woollike yarn held together for this, and stranded some sparkly thread along for some of it. I’ll specify when to do that.

Start with sparkly thread held along.

Round 1: Foundation dc 26, sl st to join.

Round 2: Ch 2 (does not count as a stitch, now and throughout). (Dc 1, inc) 2x, sk next 6 sts. (Inc, dc 1) 3x. Inc, sk next 6 sts. Inc, dc 1, inc. Join with sl st to first dc.

Round 3: Ch 2, dc in each st around, increasing at each armpit. Sl st to join.

Round 4-5: Ch 2, dc in each st around. Sl st to join. Drop sparkly thread at end of Round 5.

Round 6: Ch 2. (Dc 3, inc) around. Sl st to join.

Round 7: Ch 2, dc in each st around, sl st to join.

Round 8: Ch 2. (Dc 4, inc) around. Sl st to join.

Round 9: Repeat Round 7.

Round 10: Ch 2. (Dc 5, inc) around. Sl st to join.

Round 11-14: Repeat Round 7.

Pick up sparkly thread again. Ch 2. Starting in same st, *(dc, ch 1, dc) all in same st, sk next st, rep from * around. Join with sl st to first dc. You’ve added a sparkly V-stitch edging, hurray.

I still need to write down directions for the cape. But for the part at the top, use sparkly embroidery floss and add about 10 stitches of double crochet like you see in the picture. Just trial and error for this bit. 🙂

Hair

My favorite part!

I made the wig cap the same as I did for Cinder. Then I cut pieces of yarn by measuring them out around ACOTAR. =) The yarn was really helpful and it actually un-plied itself while I did this, so I barely had to separate the strands of yarn – it was fantastic! Then I hooked them into the wig cap and ran a hair straightener over it. I also added a part line by making a chain of 10 and hooking yarn strands into either side of the chain, then sewing that onto her head. I trimmed her bangs as well.

And guess what?

Completely unintentionally, she looks a good deal like my favorite TV show character EVER… Fauxlivia from Fringe!

Hehe, fandoms colliding. This made me greatly happy – and now I know how to go about crocheting Fauxlivia! 🙂

The actual event

Like I said, I was planning to give crochet Feyre to Sarah J. Maas when I got my books signed. Well, unfortunately I didn’t manage to get a ticket for the signing line, even though I showed up four hours early – the signing was at 6:30, but apparently people had arrived early in the morning to snag their tickets. There were only 250. I was disappointed, but I perked up when I realized this meant I could keep ami Feyre. I finished her about a month before the signing, so she’d been decorating my bookshelf for quite awhile, and I must confess I grew rather attached to her. So I didn’t get to meet the author, but I got to keep my little crochet companion!

I did manage to snag a copy of the book, though, which was fortunate as they sold out super quickly. There were probably five hundred people there – it was insane! I nearly got trampled trying to get a chair.

This is as close as I got. 😛 Author on the right.

I did still get to see Sarah J. Maas be interviewed, which was super entertaining. Apparently she’s a Hufflepuff, like yours truly – and Thor is her favorite Avenger. Mine too! Maybe I should crochet some Avengers… 🙂

Anyway, I think I will keep crocheting characters and bringing them to book signings… time to see when Marissa Meyer will be in town next, I guess! 😀 I’m actually working on some characters from the 100 right now, you may have seen my progress over on Instagram. So they’ll be making it to the blog in the near future. This post took me forever to write, haha… I think I’m going to make a page for fandom amigurumi. Fandomgurumi, perhaps? 😀 There’s definitely going to be more of them!

Have y’all read any Sarah J. Maas books? Any suggestions on future fandomgurumi adventures? I always love to hear from you! 😀

(8) Comments

  1. Dawn Golden says:

    She is a beautiful doll! I think she’s my favorite one you’ve made so far. I’m glad you were able to keep her; definitely a silver lining to your disappointment of not getting an autograph!

    1. Thank you so much for your comment – I’m really glad you like her! <3 It was definitely a silver lining, I think I would have been quite sad to part with her…I like to think she's happy living on my bookshelf. :}

  2. Feyre is beautiful! You did an wonderful job replicating her dress, and her hair is an amazing color! 😀 <3 Also, I LOVE the idea of Fandomgurumi! Hehehe, I wouldn't want to give Feyre away either. 😉 She looks like a great bookshelf buddy! 🙂

    1. Aw, thank you so much, Grace – your comment made me smile! I’m really glad you like the idea of Fandomgurumi, it’s such a silly pun, but for some reason I was quite taken with it. 🙂 She really is a good bookshelf buddy, that’s a great term! 😀

  3. A friend introduced me to Sarah J Maas’ work, and I’ve been obsessed ever since! Feyre looks incredible (as usual), and I love the idea of fandomigurumi. 😊

    1. Yay for fellow Sarah J Maas fans – her work really is quite addictive. Thanks so much for your kind words, your comments always make me smile – glad to hear that fandomgurumi is fairly well received! 😀

  4. Oh, Feyre looks so adorable! She looks happy to stay with you & keep her home on the bookshelf. 😛

    1. Thank you so much, River! I’m not sure who’s happier about it, me or ami Feyre… she does look quite cozy on my bookshelf. 😛 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *