In which your absent blogger fangirls over ‘Fantastic Beasts’

Well. It’s definitely been a while.

I’ve been absent from blogland (no, WordPress, I am not trying to type ‘bogland’) for over a month… and I really missed it!

In my defense, though, I have certainly been busy. What do you know, a full college course load is a little demanding. 😛

I decided at the last minute to do NaNoWriMo – that’s where a bunch of insane people all over the world write a novel in a month – and I’m really excited to tell you that I finished the first draft of Unraveled! It’s 72,000 words, 51K of which I wrote during November. I’m not sure yet if I’m going to post the rest of it here, because it’s so long. I’m just starting to edit it now. But I’m super happy it’s finished, I had a lot of fun with it! I would welcome your feedback on what I should do with it. Should I post it up here? I’m considering looking into self-publishing, which is a scary thought… I don’t even know if anyone is interested in reading it. But I like this story so much I want to do something with it!

I’m really grateful for all the support you guys gave to Unraveled while I was posting it on the blog. It makes me incredibly happy that some of you looked forward to each installment so much. Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy! *blush* Let’s not get uncomfortably sentimental, though. Just know that I appreciate it. And now I’m not sure what I should do with Unraveled. 🙂

***

Crochet news!

I went to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them on opening day…dressed in full Hufflepuff gear. My sister was wearing her Hogwarts robe too (she’s a Ravenclaw).

I don’t think I ever showed you the Hufflepuff blanket I crocheted. I made it this summer from Moogly’s Big Bold Chevron Blanket pattern, with I Love This Yarn, and I really love how it turned out! I wore it like a shawl for much of the day, because I wanted to show my Hufflepuff pride. Dork alert (that’s the wand I got at Rose City Comic Con):

img_2695

Anyway, I was super excited about this movie for a million reasons, one of which was that the main character is a HUFFLEPUFF! Anyone who has spoken to me in the last two months knows this, because I won’t shut up about it. 😛 Hufflepuff, in my opinion, doesn’t get enough attention, and mostly has a bad rap for being the “outcast” house where the unwanted students get Sorted. Well, Newt Scamander is a Hufflepuff! (and I may or may not be completely smitten…) <3There are going to be four more of these movies, and I really can’t express my excitement enough.

You’re all used to my fangirling by now, right? So I don’t need to apologize? 😛

My other bit of crochet news related to this is: I crocheted a bowtruckle based on one of the creatures in the movie. Newt has this adorable little companion named Pickett that rides around in his coat pocket. It’s the cutest thing, and he’s really fond of it – the bowtruckle has separation anxiety, and Newt doesn’t have the heart to make it live with its kind.

Being totally taken with this, I crocheted one and wore it as a pin:

img_2705

I’m super pleased with how it turned out, and am planning to make a tutorial on it. (The necklace was an experiment, but I was happy with that, too… it never seems to turn out that way! Yay!)

Anyway, I’m curious to hear what you guys thought of Fantastic Beasts if you went to see it! I’m not going to spoil anything, but I absolutely LOVED it and will be buying it on DVD. And possibly seeing it again in theaters. Oh, and probably cosplaying Newt Scamander for the next Comic Con. No, I’m not obsessed at all. 😛

***

What’s new with all of you? I missed you! I hope you’re having a lovely start of December… who else is glad it’s the weekend?

10 thoughts on “In which your absent blogger fangirls over ‘Fantastic Beasts’

  1. filliefanatic says:

    I love your Bowtruckle! And the Hufflepuff blanket, of course. I reckon you should totally get Unraveled published, that would be awesome! There’s never any literature out there where a girl crafts and saves the world, so you could be a pioneer. 🙂

    Like

  2. dolldimensions says:

    Oh my! I just saw this…my WordPress reader must have missed it! Your bowtruckle is fantastic!!! 😀 I have yet to see the movie, but I agree…I think I’ll be quite smitten with Newt, too. 😉

    Like

      • Claire says:

        Aw, that’s so sweet of you, Grace…there’s no need to apologize! 🙂 Your comments mean a lot to me, and I wouldn’t take them for granted. 🙂 It is very challenging to switch domains, I completely understand having difficulties…and life gets so busy that commenting can be nearly impossible, as I’ve learned, which is why I have been absent from the comments of your wonderful blog. :} Thank you for such a sweet comment! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    • Claire says:

      Thank you so much, Grace! That made me smile! Haha, glad I’m not the only one who may be smitten… 😛 I hope you like the movie if you get a chance to see it! 😀 And the WordPress reader does crazy things, I feel you!

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments make me happy :D

