Yarn Along

I’m linking up with Small Things for the Yarn Along, where you post a picture of what you’re knitting (or crocheting) and reading at the moment.

I’m trying to take more Artful Pictures, instead of just the book and current project, but I’m not very good at it. Hopefully more Yarn Alongs will help! πŸ˜€

image

Crocheting

I volunteer at my church’s annual rummage sale, Junque and Jewels (great name, right?). Last year, when shopping through the yarn section, I found a plastic bag with three skeins of thread, a crochet hook, a partially-crocheted wrap, and the pattern. So I bought it, intrigued, and now I’m crocheting the rest of it. A slow process, because I had to figure out where the person left off, and our gauge is slightly different. ButΒ they did the difficult first row (working into the starting chain), so I’m happy I dodged that bullet. πŸ˜€

I couldn’t stop thinking about where the wrap came from, why someone would donate it, and the story behind it.Β All those questions eventually turned intoΒ Unraveled, which is why this may sound familiar to you. πŸ˜‰ (But don’t worry, I haven’t experienced any health problems from crocheting, except sore wrists! Hehe.)

Reading

My philosophy teacher recommendedΒ Sophie’s WorldΒ by Jostein Gaarder to us, and I can never resist a new book. I picked it up at my local bookstore and dove into it. Not exactly light reading — it alternates between the title character’s life and lessons on famous philosophers, and it’s all very thought-provoking.Β There should be a warning on the cover: “May cause you to rethink your life and questionΒ your existence.” But I’m really enjoying it! πŸ™‚

***

What are you reading and/or crafting at the moment?

4 thoughts on “Yarn Along

    • Claire says:

      Thank you, Grace! I get most of my inspiration from real experiences. πŸ™‚ It is a cool name, isn’t it? I always buy so much yarn at Junque and Jewels each year…rummage sales are the best. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • Claire says:

      Thank you so much, Ranee! I’ve done the unraveling to retrieve yarn before, but this was the first time I continued the work…a very different experience, but both are cool! πŸ™‚

      Like

Your comments make me happy :D

