Yarn Along

I’m linking up with Small Things for her weekly Yarn Along, where you post a picture of what you’re knitting (or crocheting) and reading at the moment. Since I love both yarn crafts and reading, when I found out about the Yarn Along I knew it was something I’d love!

IMG_0208

Knitting

I’m currently knitting a pair of socks! It’s a scary process with the DPNs and super-thin sock yarn, but I’m taking it slowly and so far the creation is looking fairly sock-like, so that’s good. I just finished the ribbing and am working on the leg. It’s going to be a very long process, but that’s okay. I love the yarn though.

I’m using Winwick Mum’s Sockalong tutorials. I’m also taking a weekly knitting class, which is super fun. I’ll never give up crochet, but I’m planning (a little nervously) to branch out.

Reading

I’m reading A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. (Technically I finished it recently, but I haven’t really started any other books.) Fantasy is my favorite genre, and I’d heard lots of people recommend this. I wasn’t the hugest fan of her Throne of Glass series, but I might give those a re-read after I finish this one, because I really like her writing. ACOTAR is technically a young adult book but I would put it in at the higher end of that scale. However, it’s definitely going onto my list of favorite books. It has everything I love in a fantasy book, and the writing is beautiful. I read it in three days because I couldn’t put it down; there are two distinctive parts to the book, and I LOVED both halves. Completely worth the price to buy a hardcover copy. Plus, the main character has an awesome name: Feyre. The names are one of my favorite parts of fantasy books. 😉

***

What do you think of the Yarn Along? Do you fancy joining in? I’m looking forward to posting more of my recent reads and projects! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Yarn Along

    • Claire says:

      Thank you so much, Winwick Mum! I’m super grateful for your tutorials, they’re the best ones on the Internet. I’ll be happy when my sock starts growing more; I didn’t really enjoy the ribbing but like you said the plain knitting should be easier. Thank you so much for leaving a comment! It’s really encouraging! 😀

      Like

      • Winwick Mum says:

        I always love to see socks in progress and I’m so pleased that the tutorials are helping! If you’re on Facebook, come and join our lovely group – we’d be very happy to see you! 🙂 xx

        Like

    • Claire says:

      Thank you so much, Desiree! Yeah, it does seem like they would get a lot faster after a few pairs. I appreciate your sweet comment; I really like how the yarn is looking with this pattern! 🙂

      Like

Your comments make me happy :D

