Happy Birthday, Katniss!

It’s Katniss’s birthday today, so I thought I’d do a post in celebration…and also show you my latest project, which I made for the occasion. Check out this quote if you want proof:

I kept telling myself if I could only hold out until May, May 8th, I would turn twelve and be able to sign up for the tesserae and get the precious grain and oil to feed us. ~ Katniss Everdeen, “The Hunger Games”

I didn’t know what to make in honor of the Mockingjay…until I was looking at the dress she wears in the 75th Hunger Games interview. I thought it would be super cool, symbolic, and an appropriate ‘birthday present’ for Katniss if I made a shawl that looked like the wings of that dress (click here to see a picture.). I don’t know if I succeeded, but here it is!

The

The “I-really-hope-this-resembles-a-mockingjay Shawl” and an awkwardly posing blogger 🙂

Here’s how I made it, in case you’re dying to make your own Katniss shawl! 😉 I used the “I Promise You Pineapples” shawl pattern by Justyna Kacprzak, which I thought looked rather wing-like. It was fun because no two rows were exactly the same. I’ve come to the conclusion that I just don’t like mindless crochet…I get too bored. So this pattern was perfect!

It's hard to pose with a shawl!

If you’re curious…the shirt says “If I can’t take my yarn, I’m not going.” 🙂

What I Used:

  • 2 skeins of I Love This Yarn in Greybeard (unfortunately they did not have the same dye lot)
  • A tiny bit of I Love This Yarn in black
  • J (6.00 MM) crochet hook

My Modifications:

I did check my gauge, but when I finished all 33 rows of the shawl, it was very short, it didn’t reach my wrists like in the first photo. I wanted to make it bigger, but I didn’t want the bottom to get longer, so I modified a bit. This is where I started my second skein…one skein was enough to make the whole 33 rows. IMG_3963 2 Row34: Don’t fasten off, but ch 3, turn, *shell in next shell, ch 2* until you reach the marked st, then make 2 dc into that st. Cut the yarn. Then turn it around so you can work back across that row. Row 35: Skip 2 dc, next shell, and join your yarn into the next shell after that. I joined with a standing dc. 2 dc into that space, *ch 2, shell into next shell* across, dc into ch 3. Repeat these rows until you have 2 shells and one half-shell on top. Then do it on the other side. You’ll have to start at the 17th shell, though, and begin with Row 35 like this: Modified Row 35: Standing dc in marked shell, dc in same sp, *ch 2, shell in next shell* across, dc into ch 3. You will have approximately five bazillion ends to weave in, but the shawl will be extended. I kind of like how it looks, what about you?: IMG_3964 Next I joined my yarn to the end of a row (after spending approximately five bazillion hours weaving in those ends) and did: Edging Row 1: Ch 3, *shell in next shell, ch 2* across. When  you reach a half-shell (2dc), work your shell in between the 2 stitches. Then fasten off gray. Edging Row 2: Join black and ch 3. *shell in next shell, ch 3* across, shell in last shell, dc into ch 3. Fasten off and weave in all ends, and YAY! IMG_3966 Since this was I Love This Yarn, I stuck in the washer and dryer and it came out so much softer and drapier…one of the reasons why I really do

Or it could be a really fluffy scarf, if you're so inclined.
Or it could be a really fluffy scarf, if you’re so inclined.

I’ve been meaning to make another shawl for a while, so I’m glad I finally got around to it…just in time for my favorite book character’s birthday! Now I just need to figure out how to wear a shawl and look confident about it…does anybody have any tips?

Happy birthday, Katniss!

Happy birthday, Katniss!

May the odds be ever in your favor!

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Katniss!

Your comments make me happy :D

