Happy I Love Yarn Day! (and a new blog button)

That’s right! The 2nd Friday of October, the 10th this year, is I Love Yarn Day! Check out the Craft Yarn Council’s page. I thought I would share some ways to celebrate everyone’s favorite yarn holiday in style.

  • Teach someone to crochet (or knit!) The Happy Blob is a great intro to amigurumi, and I’ve taught people to crochet with the Valentiny Heart pattern.
  • Do some yarn bombing! If you don’t have the stamina to do Attic24 style, try putting some bunnies around town for the Bunny Drop Project.
  • Join a Flash Mob! Okay, it’s a little too late for this one, but who says Yarn-Crafting Flash Mobs can only happen today?
  • Wear something you crocheted (or knitted) out in public. I made the Lighthearted Tunic, and I think it would be perfect for this!
  • Give a spontaneous handcrafted gift to somebody!
  • Pull out some yarn the next time you’re waiting in line, sitting on a park bench, or out in public. You can get a head start on – *whispers* – holiday gifts!
  • If you’re in the mood for a nice dystopian read, check out The Yarn Wars, then go hug a person who does a different fiber art.
  • Add a button to your blog to show your love for yarn! Because EVERY day is I Love Yarn Day!

IMG_1893

To add the button to your sidebar, copy & paste the following code into a ‘Text’ widget (it should work for both Blogger and WordPress.) 

Cogaroo Crafts

Happy I Love Yarn Day to you, my lovely blog readers. Are you doing anything to celebrate this wonderful day?

4 thoughts on “Happy I Love Yarn Day! (and a new blog button)

  1. Sue says:

    Dystopian – great word! 🙂 I like your button too.

    I spent the day whipping my I Love Yarn Day pattern post into shape. And now I have some happy little yarny pumpkins hanging up near my desk.

    What a fun tunic – you should post a photo of yourself wearing it!

    Like

    • Cogaroo says:

      Thanks, Mrs. M! I was so excited to see your I Love Yarn Day post…your pumpkins are darling, and the perfect fall decoration! Yes, I should post about the Lighthearted Tunic soon…thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    Dystopian – great word! 🙂 I like your button too.

    I spent the day whipping my I Love Yarn Day pattern post into shape. And now I have some happy little yarny pumpkins hanging up near my desk.

    What a fun tunic – you should post a photo of yourself wearing it!

    Like

    • Cogaroo says:

      Thanks, Mrs. M! I was so excited to see your I Love Yarn Day post…your pumpkins are darling, and the perfect fall decoration! Yes, I should post about the Lighthearted Tunic soon…thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

      Like

Your comments make me happy :D

