Calico Critter Crochet Sundress ~ Free Pattern

I’m sure you’ve figured out what’s going on from the title of this post, so I won’t ramble on much. A few days ago, I was lucky enough to get ahold of some Calico Critters and it was suggested that I crochet them a dress. Well, after making this one I am completely enamored with the idea…Calico Critters are sooo cute and tiny, and it takes hardly any thread, time, or effort to crochet for them, plus I happen to think the end result is pretty cute. 🙂 So it’s safe to say there will be some more Calico Critter crochet outfits in the future.

IMG_2275

One note: this pattern is written for one of the KIDS! I wasn’t ambitious enough to tackle multiple sizes on this first pattern. Hopefully I’ll post the larger version soon. 🙂

IMG_2277

This should fit any CC kid, although I’ve only tried it on the kitty. There’s quite a lot of space for their tail, as there’s just one button at the top.

Materials

  • Small amount of size 10 crochet thread in desired color (pink for me!)
  • 2.1 MM crochet hook
  • Tiny button (mine was 1/4 inch diameter)
  • A Calico Critter!

Leaving a tail that’s about a foot long, ch 21. (This will be used to crochet the button loop at the end.)

Row 1 (WS): Sc in 2nd ch from hk and in each ch across.

Row 2: Ch 1, turn, 2 sc in first st, sc in next st, 2 sc in next st. Ch 3, sk next 4 sts (right armhole made), *2 sc in next st, sc in next st* 3x. Ch 3, sk next 4 sts (left armhole made), sc in next st, 2 sc in next st, sc in last st.

Row 3: Ch 1, turn, sc evenly across, making 3 sc in each chain-3 loop.

Row 4: Ch 2, turn, sk 1st st, 3 dc in next st (cluster made). *Sk next st, 3 dc in next st* 10x. Sk next st, 1 dc in last st.

Row 5: Ch 1, turn. Sk 1st dc, sc in space between first dc and first 3-dc group. *Ch 3, sk next 3 dc, sc in space between clusters* 10x. Ch 3, sk next 3 dc, sc in space between last 3-dc group and next dc.

Row 6: Ch 2, turn. 3 dc in each ch-3 group across. Dc in last sc.

Row 7: Repeat Row 5.

Fasten off and weave in ending tail.

Button Loop:

Go back to the beginning where you left a foot-long tail. Using that tail, pull up a loop at the end of Row 2. Ch 4 (or however many chains you need to fit around your button), sl st into end of Row 3. Fasten off and weave in ends.

IMG_2278

I’ve noticed there are very few free patterns for Calico Critter outfits, so I will definitely be working to change that! 😉 They are one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen (and you have to keep in mind I did the photo shoot for the Guinea Pig Accessories.)

What about you, lovely followers? Do you have any Calico Critters, and if so, have you ever crocheted for them? I hadn’t until now and I’m so glad I did. 😀

14 thoughts on “Calico Critter Crochet Sundress ~ Free Pattern

  1. Sue says:

    Oh my gosh, that’s cute! I’d never heard of Calico Critters. Are you going to combine characters and make some Frozen kitty outfits? 🙂

    Like

    • Claire says:

      Hi Sarah! I think embroidery floss would work, give it a try and see if the sizing is right, maybe just attempt a couple rows and check if it fits? I’m also not sure how many skeins of it you would need, but it’s a great idea! And sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner!

      Like

  2. Bee R. says:

    Thank you for the patterns. I am just starting crocheting CC clothes for my granddaughtef. Your pictures will not come up on my phone. Please post any new ones.

    Like

    • Claire says:

      I’m so glad to hear that! How sweet for you to make stuff for your kid… thanks for telling me, it’s so nice to hear that my patterns are being used. ^__^

      Like

Your comments make me happy :D

