Is something wrong with this?

"How Does A Zipper Zip?" from "The Big Book of How"

“How Does A Zipper Zip?” from The Big Book of How

See it?

Let’s zoom in closer…

IMG_1670

“Crochet is a kind of knitting.”

There are so many things wrong with this. Crochet is not a kind of knitting, it’s its own art form. I have nothing against knitting, but crochet isn’t a form of it. Knitting is knitting, crochet is crochet. Would you say that weaving is a form of sewing? 

I had to say something on behalf of my fellow crocheters. What do you think about it?

-~-

Disclaimer: I am not dissing ‘The Big Book of How’, (it’s a cool book, actually, apart from this one statement), but this is simply my own opinion. 😉

8 thoughts on “Is something wrong with this?

  1. 7thgradementalist says:

    I don’t understand why you get so hung up on it. Perhaps look at it this way: crochet was borne of knitting (yarn, needle, looping, etc) and simply improved upon it. It’s the evolution of knitting. A higher art form.
    Maybe it all came from weaving! I think the truth is that they’re all interconnected (interwoven?). Proving or disproving who started the whole thing seems like a chicken-or-the-egg exercise.
    p.s. Love the Katniss Cowl!!!

    Like

    • Cogaroo says:

      Yarn, needle, looping…I love your technical terms. 😀 Well, it all does involve yarn, (ir)regardless. I have always been a firm believer that the chicken came first, but I know better than to start that debate. Thank you, I ❤ the Katniss cowl too! 🙂

      Like

    • Cogaroo says:

      That was an interesting post from knitsofacto…thanks for the link. 🙂 So many people can’t tell knitting and crochet apart, which is fine, but if you’re writing a book it’s always good to do your research. Crochet history is quite interesting, I read somewhere that the slip stitch was the first stitch invented, and since you can’t increase with it they just made pouches and the like. (Actually, you can increase with slip stitch ~ I’ve seen it in your patterns!)

      Like

  2. Karissa says:

    Actually, I don’t think there is anything wrong with this. Knitting means to make fabric by intertwining yarn or thread in a series of connected loops. Since this is just what one does in crochet, it literally is a form of knitting. Crochet is knitting (making fabric with yarn) done with a hook instead of needles. But I do think a distinction between the two is necessary. Knitting can be seen as a broad term, I wonder if there’s a more precise word for knitting specifically with needles? Just a thought 🙂

    Like

    • Cogaroo says:

      I see what you mean, and you do make a good point. I think the bottom line (at least for me) is that, yes, they’re similar…but they’re not the same, and that’s what a lot of people mix up. Yes, we should re-define the terms ~ less confusion!

      Like

Your comments make me happy :D

