Chocolate-Peanut Pavé

Bonjour,

A few days ago, my mother and I decided to bake something (more mother/daughter time).  I got to decide what to make.  I went for a chocolate dessert.

I thought that THIS chocolate-peanut pavé looked delicious.  My mother knew that it would be a lot of work, but she went along with it anyway.

 

First we had to make the cake, which was a lot of work by itself.  There were over 15 minutes of mixing involved!

IMG_0601

 

It was a light color when it went into the oven…

IMG_0605

 

But it had darkened a lot when it came out.  The orange powdery stuff is from the light dusting of cocoa required. I made the mistake of eating some plain cocoa.  It looked like it would taste good, but let me assure you that it does not.

IMG_0603

 

While it was baking we started the frosting.  Here are some of the ingredients needed for it.  My mother had to chop up a lot of chocolate (12 oz. of it) while I hand-washed some dishes.

IMG_0604

 

After the cake came out, we had to cut it into four pieces to layer.

IMG_0608

 

It kind of reminded me of a crochet pattern.  “Put one cake slice on serving platter, frost, dust with peanuts.  *Put one cake slice on previous cake slice, frost, dust with peanuts*, repeat twice more.”…although it wasn’t written quite like that.  🙂

Ta-daaaaa...

Ta-daaaaa…the finished pavé!

We put some pulverized peanuts on top instead of the peanut butter piping (wow, that’s alliterative).

IMG_0614

I think it turned out really well.  It certainly tastes like it.  How can you go wrong with chocolate and peanuts?

~ The Cogaroo ~

 

Your comments make me happy :D

