I’m Back!

Bonjour,

Je suis retourné!  Sorry I’ve been gone so long.  I couldn’t think of anything interesting to post about, and when I did, I was in a lazy mood and didn’t want to hunt down the camera, upload the pictures, and write up a post.

I’ve been crocheting a bunch, but I’m not ready to show you my new project yet.  I’ve never made anything like it before and it’s pretty nerve-wracking!  (Plus, it’s not done yet.)  So I’ll settle for a giant Ta-Dah post, Attic24 style.

IMG_0565

What better way to start than with a cute crocheted owl?  This pattern is from this post by Bunny Mummy.  It was really fun to make, and very fast.  IMG_0567

I used different colors on the front and back.  The back was originally going to be the front, but I liked the other color arrangement better.

IMG_0566

 

I decided to do felt eyes rather than crocheted eyes, and I like the result.

IMG_0571

 

I made this Russian doll a while ago, before I started this blog.  My advice is to use invisible decreases, otherwise you’ll have a line of visible bumps.

IMG_0574

The pattern is from ‘Cute & Easy Crochet’ by Nikki Trench.   It was easy enough to follow, but I had a hard time with the crab-stitch part.  In case you’re wondering, I needle felted the eyes and mouth.

"Remember me?"

“Remember me?”

For Christmas, I ended up making another Amineko…

IMG_0579

…with a modified version of this dress pattern.

IMG_0580

 

I think they’re both happy to have a friend.  🙂

Amigurumi doll before

 

Remember this doll?  (I had to go rooting through my own archives to find this picture, which is a very strange sensation.)  She seemed to be begging me for some hair…

IMG_0575

 

…and I can’t ignore a request from an amigurumi doll, so she now has a generous head of hair.

Lots of hair!

Lots of hair!

IMG_0577

I also knitted her a dress, which was pretty easy.  I knitted a rectangle, casting on twenty-ish stitches for the width, and sewed it together on one end.  Then I added crocheted straps.

Recently I tried re-teaching myself to knit, and I figured out that I’ve been knitting wrong the whole time.  I’m very confused as to how to yarn over.  I’ll have to work on that sometime else.  I’m definitely a better crocheter than I am a knitter!

IMG_0581

 

I realize that this is probably not recognizable from the front.  I made this for a Mario Kart fan, the same one that I made the Toads for.

IMG_0582

It’s Yoshi!  I modified a dragon pattern to include cheeks, eyes, shell, and orange-back-of-head-scallopy-thing.

IMG_0584

 

Happily made with I Love This Yarn…

It should be confessed that I am the Queen of Random Crocheting.  I have so many random squares (or rectangles, triangles, circles, etc…) laying around.  So I thought I would sew them all together to make…

The Scrap-ghan!

The Scrap-ghan!

I didn’t have as many scraps as I’d originally thought…so the afghan isn’t full sized.

Closeup of the right side...

Closeup of the right side…

There are too many squares to name all of the patterns, but if you like one in particular, I’d be happy to tell you where to find it. 😉

...and the left side.

…and the left side.

It makes for a very happy poodle…

IMG_0588

…and because it’s made with scraps, it doesn’t matter if it gets bedraggled!

I hope you didn’t find this post too long or boring.  Have a nice day!

~ The Cogaroo ~

 

4 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. Starfish says:

    Haha first comment! I think…
    this is all very lovely Cogaroo, now I think I will also make a scrap blanket
    How do you do the larger green rectangle with the flower inset?

    Like

Your comments make me happy :D

