Crafting for Charity

Bonjour,

A week or so ago, my mother and I made 5 hats to send to Connecticut.  You can read about the project here.  I really liked crocheting to help people, and I wanted to do more of it.

556311_518914121460912_1309577066_n

Recently, my mother found an organization that sends homemade pillowcases to children with cancer.  That way they have something comforting in their hospital rooms.  The way it’s set up is that the pillowcases you make will be sent to a local hospital, so you know that you’re helping kids near you.

She asked if my sister and I wanted to make one.  We both agreed.

IMG_0500

The pillowcase pattern is from here, and it’s not called the Magic Pillowcase for nothing!  I don’t know how someone could come up with this.  (I don’t even know how someone can figure out a sewing pattern without a teacher, but that’s probably because I don’t sew very often.)

IMG_0499

Here’s a closeup of the pillowcase that I made.  I was immediately attracted to the pink.  It wasn’t very hard to sew, once you get started.

IMG_0502

Isn’t the fabric cute?  It was all bought on sale.  (My little sister made the one in the middle, she’s an amazing seamstress.)

IMG_0503

Would you like to join us on our pillow-making mission?  Go to ConKerr Cancer to see what to do.

Crafting for charity is good in a lot of ways.  Firstly (and the biggest reason), it lets you do good things for others.  Second, it lets you craft without getting your house overrun by stuff (prolific crafters are ubiquitous!).  Third, there’s always something you can do, whether you knit, crochet, or sew.  I found this really cool organization that makes blankets out of squares that people send in.  You can check it out by clicking the Magic Button.

Have a superlative day!

~ The Cogaroo ~

4 thoughts on “Crafting for Charity

  1. Starfish says:

    I love crafting for charity! It is such a great way to give back to your community and, like you said, you can crochet all the time without filling your house with yarn (so to speak). Not that I dont love yarn 🙂

    Like

Your comments make me happy :D

