Barbie Mermaid Tail

Bonjour,

I spent a while today making a pattern for a Barbie mermaid tail.  Whenever I write a new pattern, I have to type it up the same day or I will have no clue what I did, even though I took ‘notes’.

Image

 

See what I mean?  My notes aren’t understandable to anyone but myself.

Image

 

Barbie Mermaid Tail

Materials

Size H (5.00 MM) crochet hook

Worsted Weight Yarn in two colors (main color A for tail, and color B for fins and stripe at top of tail)

Ponytail holder that fits around your Barbie’s waist*

Yarn needle & scissors

* I used ponytail holders that have about a 1-inch diameter.  If it’s too loose you can cinch it up later.  This is really just to work the first round of stitches in.  If you don’t have a ponytail holder handy, try doing the first round in a chain instead and cinching it with a spare length of yarn.

Tail Fins (make 2)

Use Color B.

Rnd 1: 4 sc in a Magic Ring.

Rnd 2: *sc 1, 2 sc in next st* twice.

Rnd 3: *sc 2, 2 sc in next st* twice.

Rnd 4: *sc 3, 2 sc in next st* twice.

Rnd 5: *sc 4, 2 sc in next st* twice.

Rnds 6-9: sc 1 in each st around.

Rnd 10: *sc2tog* around.

Rnd 11: *sc2tog* twice, sl st 1.  Fasten off, leaving a long tail for sewing.

 

Tail

Rnd 1: Join B to ponytail holder whatever method you like (with a chain, slip stitch, standing single crochet, etc.) 18 sc around, slip stitch to join, changing to A.

Rnd 2: Chain 1. Through back loops only, *sc 4, inc* around.  The count will end up uneven; finish by single crocheting three.  Slip stitch to join.

We are now going to start working in a spiral.  Don’t chain at the beginning of Rnd 3.

Rnd 3: 2 sc in next st, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnds 4-6: sc 1 in each st around.

Rnd 7: Sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnd 8: Sc 10, sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnd 9: Sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnd 10: Sc 7, sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnds 11-13: Sc 1 in each st around.

Rnd 14: Sc2tog, sc 10, sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnd 15: Sc 1 in each st around.

Rnd 16: Sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnd 17: Sc 7, sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnd 18: Sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnds 19-24: Sc 1 in each st around.

Rnd 25: Sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnds 26-28: Sc 1 in each st around.

Rnds 29-30: Sc2tog, sc 1 in each remaining st.

Rnds 31-32: Sc 1 in each st around.

From now on, there will be no separate rounds.  Sc 5.  *sc2tog* 5 times.  If this makes the tail too long (if you’re using a stretchier yarn, for example), then ignore the ‘sc 5’ and proceed directly to the decreases.  (‘Do not pass Go.  Do not collect $200.’ – Monopoly)

Sew the tail fins to the mermaid tail.  The following picture might help with placement:

Image

 

Since my Giveaway post (I’d insert a link, but WordPress is being ornery), I have not gotten any new followers.  I need 14 more before the giveaway is happening.  Just thought I’d remind you…

I hope you enjoy the pattern!  If you make one of my patterns and want to send me a link, I’d be thrilled to see.  🙂

~ The Cogaroo ~

 

 

 
14 thoughts on “Barbie Mermaid Tail

  1. Sweet Petunia says:

    I really like your blog. I especially love this mermaid tail. You have great creativity and imagination. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Astri says:

    Ooooooo…mermaids are the best! There’s always been a special place in my heart for Barbie’s too. Keep up the good work Cogaroo; you’re building a lovely blog with lots of crochet delight. 🙂

    Like

      • Miranda de Kroon says:

        Wow, I’m so happy that I found this barbie mermaid pattern.
        I have a daughter of 9, she is autistic and lives for mermaids. I crochet for her a cosy mermaidtail and now i’m starting for her barbies too. She is going to be so happy!
        First need to translate the pattern. I’m from the Netherlands. But I will sure try too figure it out. Greetings from Miranda

        Like

Your comments make me happy :D

